BUDAPEST: MY PICKS

I spent five months in Budapest and visited quite a few places in the Hungarian capital. Therefore in this post I want to round up my favorite places (as sort of a guide). 

place/sight: Szabadság híd (Liberty Bridge)f16t23_szabadsag

Everybody knows one of the icons of the city – Chain Bridge, but I don’t think that everyone knows that BP has eight bridges in total. My favorite one is located between Gellért Square (Buda side) and Fővám Square (Pest side) and was originally called Franz Joseph Bridge. I just love how the bridge looks and it reminds me of the imperial times.

panorama: the view of the Danube and the Castle District (Buda) from the Parliament

Another view that everyone knows is the one from Fisherman’s Bastion or the Citadel that overlooks the river and the Parliament. But I prefer this view the other way around: standing near the Parliament and looking at the Castle, the Bastion and Gellért Hill.

breakfast place: Cserpes TejivóDSC_0513-001

I love breakfast and Cserpes Tejivó is a place where you can find really delicious breakfast options: croissants, sandwiches, salty things. There are four different Tejivó joints throughout the city and my favorite one is in the city center – at Deák Square. My go-to sandwich is the spicy cottage cheese with onions and cucumbers. Yumm!

place to have a cup of coffee: every other independent coffee shopf16t23_espresso

If you are searching for the already known flavors, then you are lucky – there are a lot of different big names like Starbucks, Coffee Shop Company or Costa (love me some Costa, there was one right beside the place where I lived) present in the city. But if you are looking for something unique, quirky, Tumblr/Pinterest/Instagram worthy than you can also have that. Whilst being there I went to some places and my faves were the following: fekete, My Little Melbourne, Espresso Embassy, Madal Cafe.

book shop: Bestsellers 

I love books and I love to go in stores and spend a lot of time inside. My favorite bookshop is Bestsellers, which has a big variety of foreign language books. The shop is located in the city center, close to St. Stephen’s Basilica, Deák Square or the Chain Bridge. It is worth a visit!


 

So here are my favorite places in Budapest. Are any of these on your list?

See you soon!

Zs.

4 thoughts on “BUDAPEST: MY PICKS

Leave a Reply

